Monday, June 29, 2015

Renewal odds 6/29/15: 'Skin Wars', 'Idiotest', 'The Chase'

Last week's renewal odds

Skin Wars

Although Skin Wars did not see another week of record-breaking numbers (really, how much can you ask for?), its third week was very strong and higher than the season premiere in both 18-49 and total viewers. Skin Wars is a complete lock for a third season if future episodes keep either rising or stay above the season premiere.

The only bad news for Skin Wars is comparing the first three episodes of the first season to the first three episodes of this season: Skin Wars is down 5% in total viewers and down 17% in 18-49 viewers.

Chance of renewal: 99% (flat)


An average of 395,000 total viewers and 119,000 18-49 viewers over twenty eight episodes sounds healthy to me. Plus, this past week, Idiotest had one of its strongest showings yet post-Skin Wars and hit a season high.

Chance of renewal: 99% (up 4% from last week)

The Chase

No changes whatsoever. Just two weeks until new episodes (Thursday, July 16th 8pm ET), paired with Chain Reaction.

Chance of renewal: 99%



    BURBANK, June 29, 2015 – FremantleMedia North America’s new digital multicast network, BUZZR, is set to celebrate Independence Day with a lineup of some of America’s favorite game shows, but this time with a special twist! Airing in primetime at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT with a re-airing at 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT, viewers will be pulled into the game show time capsule with 4th of July episodes from decades past. The patriotic celebration will kick off with the memorable July 4, 1985 episode of Body Language, featuring host, Tom Kennedy and some familiar celebrity faces, including Lisa Bonet and Jason Bateman. The festivities will continue with episodes of Match Game, Press Your Luck, Card Sharks, Super Password and Password Plus, making this special television event the perfect post-fireworks party!

    Episode airtimes are as follows:

    8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT BODY LANGUAGE (July 4, 1985)
    8:30 PM ET/5:30 PM PT MATCH GAME (July 4, 1974)
    9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT PRESS YOUR LUCK (July 4, 1985)
    9:30 PM ET/6:30 PM PT CARD SHARKS (July 4, 1980)
    10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT SUPER PASSWORD (July 4, 1985)
    10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT PASSWORD PLUS (July 4, 1980)

    “Game shows consistently highlight some of the best aspects of the American culture,” said Mark Deetjen, Vice President of Programming, BUZZR. “What better way to celebrate that fun and excitement than with episodes unique to BUZZR that look at our nation through the lens of these wild vintage game shows originally broadcast on July 4th?”

    BUZZR, which launched on June 1, 2015 and is continually adding new episodes from its vault of content, is a time capsule – an unending celebration where viewers can play along to some of FremantleMedia North America’s vast portfolio of more than 40,000 iconic game show episodes, which are shown around the clock

    1. That is very nice for Buzzr to do. That will grab a lot of eyeballs from people who love classic game shows, like many of us around here.

      Now if only a lot more people could get Buzzr.

  2. One glaring question, does Buzzr not want to show anything out of the norm? The Saturday night Time Machine is nothing more than reruns recently shown. I wish they'd toss us a bone like GSN did back in the day and do some vault stuff. It's not like they have millions of viewers to offend right now. I'm not complaining that they've put a little work into pulling some July 4th eps, but it's rehashing what we see everyday.

    1. I said this once, Buzzr is like one big tease. It stated that it would contain over 40,000 episodes of every Fremantle owned show. But we get the same 6 shows. And repeating the same episodes is not good. I know it's only the first month on air, but if they keep this up, this network won't last long on the airwaves. If Buzzr wants to make the people who are lucky enough to get the station happy, air some new content.

    2. This 4th Of July thing looks great. Too bad me in the Pittsburgh area can't get it.

  3. Viewers in the NYC area who get Cablevision will get the channel on July 21st. That right there is 3 million viewers. Available on the least basic package unlike the SportsPak GSN.

    As for Buzzr, I thought when they first started or originally thought, they would air Dawson Feud in the mornings, Combs and Dawson in the afternoons like GSN did and then primetime would be O'Hurley/Karn/Anderson. I didn't think they would just stick with Dawson.

    1. Cablevision customers do not get GSN so that should be real good news for Buzzr.

      As for Buzzr's Family Feud situation, I guess they want to stick with only Dawson and not have Feud overflow like GSN does.

      Meanwhile, Centric is pulling more Harvey Feud. They reduced airings from 4 to 2 episodes per weekday this week.

    2. I think by July or August, Feud will be gone on Centric. I guess it just doesn't work on other cable networks except GSN.

    3. "I think by July or August, Feud will be gone on Centric. I guess it just doesn't work on other cable networks except GSN."

      Which really surprises me that Family Feud did not work elsewhere but that is good news for GSN for a couple reasons: There is less competition for Family Feud elsewhere besides syndication; leasing should be less expensive since there are less sources wanting modern Family Feud episodes.

    4. Speaking of Feud, it topped households for the second week in a row. It dipped to a 5.9, landing into a three way tie with Wheel and Jeopardy. Feud is making a statement with those ratings.

    5. Even though tied with Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune, Family Feud is up sizably in the key demo year to date.